Monday, May 27, 2024

Amid the turmoil over Harvard University’s president, Claudine Gay, the powerful board governing the university has been thrust into the spotlight. Despite the mounting scrutiny over Dr. Gay, the Harvard Corporation has so far shown support for her.

The Harvard Corporation — formally known as the President and Fellows of Harvard College — consists of 13 members (one position is currently unfilled), is responsible for the hiring of the university president and is the arbiter of major policy decisions. Members, who meet several times a year, are not paid for their role. The board, the smaller and more powerful of two governing boards at Harvard, dates back to 1650, making it the oldest corporation in the Western Hemisphere, according to the university. For generations, the corporation was made up of only the university president and six others, but it expanded in 2010 to 13 members amid calls for clearer communication with the broader Harvard community, according to the school’s Office of the Governing Boards. Here’s what to know about the board’s current members.

1. Timothy R. Barakett
2. Kenneth I. Chenault
3. Mariano-Florentino (Tino) Cuéllar
4. Paul J. Finnegan
5. Claudine Gay
6. Biddy Martin
7. Karen Gordon Mills
8. Diana L. Nelson
9. Tracy Pun Palandjian
10. Penny Pritzker
11. Shirley M. Tilghman
12. Theodore V. Wells Jr.

Rob Copeland, Maureen Farrell and Sarah Mervosh contributed reporting.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles